Electoral Act

Electoral Amendment Bill, 2017 - Proposed Committee Stage Amendments for 10th April 2018


The National Assembly is due to start the Committee Stage of this Bill on Tuesday afternoon, 10th April 2018.

This document contains proposed amendments to the Bill to be moved by Hon Ziyambi Ziyambi, Minister of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs, and by Hon Innocent Gonese, MDC-T Chief Whip, during the Committee Stage.

Veritas Draft Electoral Amendment Bill - updated 2018

This Bill was prepared by Veritas as a more comprehensive alternative to the Government's Electoral Amendment Bill 2017, currently going through Parliament (March 2018).

This Bill will amend the Electoral Act [Chapter 2:13] to align it more closely with the Constitution and to facilitate the holding of free and fair elections.  The main focus of the amendments are the following:

Election Watch 2-2018 - Timeframe for the 2018 Elections


[23rd February 2018]

Timeframe for the 2018 Elections

The polling date of the next general election is the key date which determines when all the other electoral process must take place.

Election Polling Date

In normal circumstances the earliest date for polling is July 23rd and the last date for polling is August 21st.

Electoral Amendment Bill, 2017 - Report by Portfolio Committee on Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs

This report was presented in the National Assembly by Committee Chairperson Hon Fortune Chasi on Thursday 15th February 2018.

The report ends thus:


Having analysed the Bill, gathered the contributions from Zimbabweans across the country, and guided by Sections 119 and 155 of the Constitution, the Committee is pleased to make the following recommendations which must all be implemented by 31st March, 2018:

TIMBA v PASSADE - Mount Pleasant Election Petition - Electoral Court judgment 18 Aug 2014

BHUNU J: The applicant Jameson Timba and the respondent Jason Passade and one Peter Muchadamano were conte~tants for the Mount Pleasant Constituency Parliamentary seat in the recent Harmonised National Assembly Elections held on 31 July 2013. The Mount Pleasant Constituency is made up of 2 wards being wards 7 and 17.


Subscribe to RSS - Electoral Act