Commissions Watch 3-2016


[4th May 2016]

Public Interviews to Fill Zimbabwe Electoral Commission Vacancies

Monday 9th May

This bulletin is to give advance notice that the public interviews of candidates nominated for appointment as members of the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission [ZEC] will be conducted at Parliament on Monday 9th May.

Details of time and venue, and the names of the candidates, will be given in another bulletin as soon as we have that information. 

Reminder – Six Vacancies

There are six vacancies to be filled.  They were caused by the expiry at the end of March of the terms of office of ZEC members Joyce Kazembe [vice-chairperson], Daniel Chigaru, Theophilus Gambe, Petty Makoni, Sibongile Ndhlovu and Bessie Nhandara.  

Parliament called on members of the public to submit nominations to fill the vacancies in February.  The closing date for submission of nominations was 27th February.

The current members of ZEC are chairperson Justice Rita Makarau [appointed in 2013] and Commissioners Qhubani Moyo and Emmanuel Magade [appointed in June 2015].  They are serving six-year terms. 

Procedure for Appointment of New Members

On Monday 9th May Parliament’s Committee on Standing Rules and Orders [CSRO] will, in terms of section 237 of the Constitution—

- conduct public interviews of the candidates

- prepare a list of at least nine nominees for appointment by the President  [Note:  As there are six vacancies, this list must contain at least nine nominees.]

- submit the list to the President.

The President must then make his appointments from the CSRO’s list.  He cannot go outside the list or ask the CSRO to think again.


Veritas makes every effort to ensure reliable information, but cannot take legal responsibility for information supplied

To subscribe or unsubscribe from this mailing list please email

If you wish to contact Veritas please email

If you are requesting legislation please email or look for it on

Download Document: