COPAC's Final Narrative Report to Parliament (7 February 2013)


The Parliamentary Select Committee on the new constitution for Zimbabwe (hereinafter referred to as COPAC) was established on the 12th of April 2009 being comprised of Members of Parliament from the political parties that are signatory to the Global Political Agreement and a representative of the Chiefs Council who sits in Parliament.  During the initial period the Select Committee operated within the precincts of Parliament and was serviced by the Parliament secretariat. The Select Committee acknowledges the immense role played by the Clerk and his team during this formative phase of the process.  An independent secretariat was then recruited in December 2009 and was based at the COPAC Head Office at 31 Lawson Avenue in Milton Park, Harare.

Before embarking on the stages outlined in Article VI of the Global Political Agreement, your committee held preparatory meetings and seminars.  In this regard your committee benefited immensely from the expertise and experience of Cyril Ramaphosa and Roelf Meyer from South Africa.  Your committee is also indebted to our fellow Zimbabweans Professor Reginald Austin, Justice Ben Hlatshwayo and Mrs Joyce Kazembe for their input during the initial stages of the process.

The committee also undertook provincial outreach programmes which were meant to introduce the committee to the populace as well as to afford an opportunity to explain the various stages of the process as envisaged in the Global Political Agreement.

Download File: