Committees Series 20-2019 -- Open Committee Meetings Thursday 30th May 2019



[29th May 2019]

Open Committee Meetings Thursday 30th May

The National Assembly portfolio committee meetings listed below, to be held tomorrow, Thursday 30th May, at Parliament in Harare, will be open to the public.  

Members of the public may attend the meetings – but as observers only, not as participants, i.e. they may observe and listen but not speak. If attending, please use the entrance to Parliament on Kwame Nkrumah Ave between 2nd and 3rd Streets. Please note that IDs must be produced.

The details given in this bulletin are based on the latest information from Parliament. But, as there are sometimes last-minute changes to the meetings schedule, persons wishing to attend should avoid disappointment by checking with the committee clerk that the meeting concerned is still on and open to the public. Parliament’s telephone numbers are Harare 2700181 and 2252940/1.

Reminder: Members of the public, including Zimbabweans in the Diaspora, can at any time send written submissions to Parliamentary committees by email addressed to or by letter posted to the Clerk of Parliament, P.O. Box 298, Causeway, Harare or delivered at Parliament’s Kwame Nkrumah Avenue entrance in Harare.

Thursday 30th May at 10.00 am

Portfolio Committee:  Energy and Power Development

Oral evidence from the Minister of Energy and Power Development and the Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe on the current fuel situation in the country. 

Venue: Committee Room 311.

Portfolio Committee:  Information, Media and Broadcasting Services

Oral evidence from the  Minister of Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services on the legislation governing the media sector.

Venue: Senate Chamber.

Portfolio Committee: Youth, Sports and Recreation

Oral evidence from SAYWHAT and the National Youth Organisation on implementation of section 20 of the Constitution by the Government.

Venue: Committee Room 2.

Note: Section 20 of the Constitution [headed “Youths”] appears in the Chapter headed “National Objectives”, which sets out twenty-four objectives to “guide the State and all institutions and agencies of government at every level in formulating and implementing laws and policy decisions that will lead to the establishment, enhancement and promotion of a sustainable, just, free and democratic society in which people enjoy prosperous, happy and fulfilling lives.  Section 20 is as follows:

“20   Youths

(1)  The State and all institutions and agencies of government at every level must take reasonable measures, including affirmative action programmes, to ensure that youths, that is to say people between the ages of fifteen and thirty-five years—

(a) have access to appropriate education and training;

(b) have opportunities to associate and to be represented and participate in political, social, economic and other spheres of life;

(c)  are afforded opportunities for employment and other avenues to economic empowerment;

(d) have opportunities for recreational activities and access to recreational facilities;  and

(e) are protected from harmful cultural practices, exploitation and all forms of abuse.

(2)  An Act of Parliament may provide for one or more national youth programmes.

(3)  Measures and programmes referred to in subsections (1) and (2) must be inclusive, non-partisan and national in character.”


Download File: