COMMISSIONS WATCH -28 May 2019 -Parliament Calls for Nominations to Fill One Vacancy on Human Rights Commission


[28th May 2019]


Parliament Calls for Nominations to Fill One Vacancy on
the Zimbabwe Human Rights Commission

There is one vacancy to be filled on the Zimbabwe Human Rights Commission following the resignation of Commissioner C. T. Khombe before the expiry of his term of office.

Sections 237 and 243 of the Constitution entrust to Parliament’s Standing Rules and Orders Committee the responsibility of nominating a list of three qualified persons from which the President will make an appointment to fill this vacancy. 

The Committee is obliged to follow the procedure laid down by the Constitution, namely:

  • advertising the vacancy and calling on members of the public to nominate candidates
  • conducting public interviews of qualified candidates
  • compiling and sending to the President a list of three candidates from whom the President will make the appointment.

The Committee has duly published advertisements of the vacancy in the print media and in the same advertisement called on the public to submit nominations.  The closing date specified is end of day Friday 7th June.  The full text of the advertisement is available on the Veritas website [link].

The advertisement lists the functions and responsibilities of the Zimbabwe Human Rights Commission and repeats the Constitution’s command that members of the Commission “must be chosen for their integrity and their knowledge of and understanding of, and experience in, the promotion of human rights”.   

How to nominate a candidate

Nomination material must consist of a typewritten submission of no more than two A4 pages long stating why the person nominated is a suitable candidate together with a completed nomination form which can be obtained at Parliament offices or downloaded from the Veritas website [link].

Nominations must be addressed to the Clerk of Parliament in envelopes clearly marked Zimbabwe Human Rights Commission and must either be posted, hand delivered or emailed to: 

The Clerk of Parliament

Parliament of Zimbabwe

Parliament Building

Cnr. K. Nkrumah Avenue and Third Street

P.O. Box CY 298




Deadline for submission of nominations is close of business on Friday 7th June 2019


Download Document: