Privileges Committee Report on Alleged Misconduct by MDC-A MPs 2018-2019

This report was presented to both Houses of Parliament by Hon Samukange, MP, chairperson of the Privileges Committee, on Wednesday 24 March 2021.  It reports on the committee’s investigation into alleged misconduct by MDC-Alliance members of the National Assembly and Senators during the period September 2018 to November 2019.  The allegations were that the accused had on separate occasions during that period engaged in conduct derogatory of and disrespectful of President Mnangagwa when he attended Parliament –by not rising when he entered the National Assembly chamber, walking out on him singing political songs, boycotting Budget presentations and boycotting a State of the Nation address.  The report finds 82 MPs guilty of contempt of Parliament and recommends that they should lose their diplomatic passports and each pay a level 12 fine [currently ZWL $600 000].  Hons Job Sikhala and Chikwinya are also found guilty of contempt of Parliament when they appeared before the committee, with an additional level 14 fine [currently ZWL $800 000] being recommended by the committee. 


Download File: