COMMISSIONS WATCH 05-2022 - Six New Commissioners for ZEC


Zimbabwe Electoral Commission [ZEC]

[13th July 2022]

Six New Commissioners for ZEC

Scarcely a month ago Veritas distributed a bulletin announcing the public interviews on 17th June of 32 shortlisted candidates to fill six vacancies that would arise in the membership of the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission [ZEC] on 6th July – the date when the terms of office of the existing members would expire.

The public interviews were duly conducted by Parliament’s Committee on Standing Rules and Orders [CSRO] on 17th June, as required by sections 237 and 238 of the Constitution. The members of the CSRO, which is chaired by the Speaker of the National Assembly, were then obliged decide on, and submit to the President a list of at least nine qualified candidates, This would have given the President, as the appointing authority, a choice, but a limited one – because he was then obliged to make the six required appointments from the candidates on the Committee’s list.

This was accomplished in time for the six appointees to be sworn in by the President on Thursday 7th July, thereby bringing the membership of ZEC up to its full complement a chairperson and eight Commissioners without a break. The three existing members who will continue to serve are:

·      Hon Mrs Justice Priscilla CHIGUMBA (Chairperson since 31st January 2028)

·      Mr Rodney KIWA (a Commissioner since November 2021 and Deputy Chairperson since March 2022)

·      Mr Jasper MANGWANA (a Commissioner since October 2021 and ZEC spokesperson since March 2022).

The New Commissioners

In alphabetical order by surname, the new Commissioners are:

Mrs Abigail Millicent Mohadi AMBROSE

She is from Matabeleland South and is an accountant by profession. She is the daughter of former Vice-President Kembo Mohadi.

Mr Shepherd MANHIVI

He is a registered legal practitioner, with an LL.B. (Hons) degree, and hold with two additional degrees B.Sc. (Hons) in Administration and an M.Sc. in International Relations, all from the University of Zimbabwe.

Ms Catherine MPOFU,

She is a language, communications specialist and peace practitioner. She holds eleven years’ experience working with the public, media and civic society from the legislative arm of the State.

Mrs Rosewita MURUTARE

Commissioner Murutare is a social scientist with experience in community health, community research and gender equity. She has previously worked with ZichiRe [the Zimbabwe Community Health Intervention Research Behavioural Change Programme, a project of the University of Zimbabwe, resident in the department of community medicine]. She holds an M.Sc. in Population Studies (UZ), B.Sc. in Geography and Environmental Studies (MSU) and a Diploma in Education from GTC.

Dr Janet Mbetu NZVENGA

She has a diploma in Education, a B.Sc. degree in psychology, a Master’s degree in Educational Psychology and a Ph.D. in Psychology. She is a currently a lecturer at Gweru Polytechnic.

Mr Kudzai SHAVA

He is a doctoral student, and an expert on disability matters, specialising in blind disability inclusion, and a researcher. He himself is visually impaired.

Download Document: