Bill Watch Parliamentary Committees Series 29-2014



[23rd May 2014]

Committee Meetings Open to the Public 27th to 29th May

The Parliamentary committee meetings listed below will be open to the public on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday 27th to 29th May. 

Members of the public may attend these meetings, but as observers only, not as participants, i.e. they may listen but not speak.  The meetings are at Parliament in Harare.  If attending, please use the entrance on Kwame Nkrumah Ave between 2nd and 3rd Streets.  Please note that IDs must be produced.

The above details are based on the latest information from Parliament.  But, as there are sometimes last-minute changes to the meetings schedule, persons wishing to attend should avoid disappointment by checking with the relevant committee clerk [see names below] that the meeting is still on and open to the public.  Parliament’s telephone numbers are Harare 700181 and 252940/1.

Reminder on Emailing Parliament

Members of the public, including Zimbabweans in the Diaspora, can at any time send written submissions to Parliamentary committees by email addressed to


Tuesday 27th May at 10 am

Thematic Committee: MDGs

Oral evidence from the Ministry of Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare on social protection programmes in Zimbabwe

Government Caucus Room

Chair: Hon Chief Mtshane             Clerk: Mrs Hazvina

Portfolio Committee: Foreign Affairs

Oral evidence from Zimbabwe Immigration Authority

Committee Room No 3

Chair: Hon Porusingazi                  Clerk: Mr Manhivi

Portfolio Committee: Local Government, Rural and Urban Development

Oral evidence from the Ministry of Local Government, Rural and Urban Development on operational challenges faced by ZUPCO

National Assembly

Chairperson: Hon Zindi        Clerk: Ms Macheza

Wednesday 21st May at 9 am

Thematic Committee: Human Rights

Oral evidence from the Zimbabwe Prison and Correctional Services on the state of prisons.

Committee Room No 4

Chair: Hon Nyambuya                   Clerk: Mr Manhivi

Thursday 22nd May at 9 am

Thematic Committee: Indigenization and Empowerment

Oral evidence from Bikita Community Share Ownership Trust on its operations and programmes

National Assembly (?)

Chair: Hon Chizema                       Clerk: Mr Ratsakatika

Portfolio Committee: Education, Sport, Arts and Culture

Oral evidence from the Minister of Education, Sports, Arts and Culture on Zimbabwe’s hosting of the African Zone VI Games

National Assembly (?)

Chairperson: Hon Mliswa              Clerk: Mr Munjenge

Thursday 22nd May at 9.30 am

Portfolio Committee: Youth, Indigenisation and Economic Empowerment

Oral evidence from Allied Bank and Stanbic Bank on the administration of Youth Development Funds

Senate Chamber

Chair: Hon Wadyajena                   Clerk: Ms Zenda


Veritas makes every effort to ensure reliable information, but cannot take legal responsibility for information supplied

To subscribe or unsubscribe from this mailing list please email

If you wish to contact Veritas please email

If you are requesting legislation please email or look for it on

Download File: